Beauty All-Stars: Nails!

All-Star weekend in NOLA has come to a close (go East!), but I will be featuring my Nail Beauty All-Stars.  All-Stars are the best of the BEST, not the ‘good’ on a bad team.

BAS2NP

 

Manicure Essentials:

Nail File

3-Way Buffer

ORLY Bonder Rubberized Basecoat

ORLY Argan Cuticle Oil

Seche Vite Top Coat (Not Pictured)

Fall/Winter Polishes:

Essie Wicked

Essie Chinchilly

Zoya Ibiza

Every good manicure starts with healthy, shaped nails.  I first cut, file, and buff (only when necessary) my nails to desired shape and texture then follow with cuticle oil to moisturize and soften my cuticles before slightly pushing them back.  I recently started using ORLY Bonder after seeing great reviews online, and I’ve have excellent results with it.  My all time favorite top coat is another online favorite, Seche Vite.  I stopped using it because it contains toluene (read more here) and wanted a better alternative, though performance wise it is still the best I’ve used.

Essie Wicked has to be one of my favorite colors, period.  It is a deep rich burgundy that is very appropriate for winter.  The bottle I have is old so I believe the formula contains toluene, formaldehyde resin, and other now less prevalent chemicals.  Essie Chinchilly is another favorite.  It is a taupe-gray that is just lovely.  This is also an old bottle that contains less than favorable ingredients.  Zoya Ibiza is a new favorite and is a gorgeous sparkly deep blue that you have to see to appreciate.  Zoya polishes are Big 5 Free and are ‘vegan.’

 

What are your Nail Beauty All-Stars?


Leave a Reply

