Do Natural/Organic/Environmentally Friendly Products Work As Well or Better?

I’m sure those of you that follow Nature’s Pulchritude may wonder if this is a legitimate question.  It is!  There are a lot of sales on natural, organic, and environmentally products this week in honor of Earth Day, which is a great opportunity to try new things and replace products that may have undesirable chemicals in them.  While we clearly advocate for the use of natural and organic personal care products, not all products are created equally.

From my experience, the following products have worked better than conventional products: lotions, creams, and butters; nail polish; shampoo and conditioner.  On the contrary, I am not particularly fond of several of the natural and organic lip balms I have tried.  Two areas I have not really explored are conventional makeup (mascara, foundation, eyeshadow, blush, etc.) and cleaning products (laundry detergent, hand soaps, etc).  While there are several brands that offer naturally and organic beauty products, do they work as well?  Can they achieve the same effect as someone’s favorite lip gloss or mascara without the chemicals?  I have seen several great reviews about natural lipsticks, all of which have been by the same brand.  I’ve intentionally avoided some ‘environmentally friendly’ cleaning products, primarily for health and hygiene reasons.  While I, like many of you, am very conscious of the ingredients in my products but want the products to work well and serve their purpose whether or aesthetic or hygienic reasons.

 

Do you think natural, organic, and environmentally friend products work as well?  What category of products need improvement to compete with or out perform traditional products?

 

10 thoughts on “Do Natural/Organic/Environmentally Friendly Products Work As Well or Better?”

  1. Great Question! So, in my experience facial and body cleansers, scrubs and moisturizers are better when natural/organic. I’ve also found a good deodorant (Real Purity) and lip balm (Silk Naturals). As for makeup, I have found a good eye liner (Dr. Hauschka) and lipstick(Vapour). I miss having a great lipgloss and detangling conditioner but I can’t go back to the “good” ones.

  2. Ooooooh! I’m kind of shocked to read this! hahaha and the answer is Yes! natural/organic products work just as well, sometimes better, and the shear fact that you are no longer contributing to polluting our water sources or using toxic chemicals in your home should be enough to convince you to switch. haha I have been using eco-friendly cleaning products for over a decade and my house is perfectly clean.
    This is another myth, that somehow we need chemicals to render something clean (which is one reason why our food is also dipped in bleach). It has been proven that cleaning with water, lemon, vinegar and baking soda cleans just as well as anything, minus the risks. And if you’re still worried, then use something with thyme oil in it, as it is 99% antibacterial, the same as Lysol or any other toxic products.

    As for the makeup (I only wear eyeliner and mascara, and on occasion eye shadow), I’ve also switched many, many years ago. I really like Ecco Bella and I’ve recently started buying mascara from Dr. Haushka, simply because Ecco Bella is hard to find in Canada, but it works just as well, in fact, it made no difference, except the fact that my eyelashes have stopped falling off like they used to when I was using chemical makeup (even the expensive stuff like Chanel).

    1. Great comment! I feel better using bleach to clean certain places because I want the assurance that all bad germs are dead! I haven’t started buying organic meats, so I haven’t let go of the bleach just yet. I am fond of natural cleaning for other surfaces/areas though. I did not know about thyme oil, and will most definitely look into it!

      I started using a ‘less bad’ mascara that I like but want to fully switch over. I will look into both those brands. This is the second time Dr. Haushka has been mentioned so I have to investigate now! I remember using a waterproof drugstore mascara that just did not want to come off and would cause me to shed eyelashes! Imagine what it is doing that you can’t see!

      1. Bleach is not 100% either (yet another myth) 😉
        Also, we need germs, the whole germaphobia and bleach/antibacterial phase is one of the causes for superviruses and many other health issues. (I suggest you check out my “90% of our DNA is not ours” article)
        Sorry if I’m coming on strong, I do feel very strongly about this subject. And I’m yet again shocked to hear you haven’t switched to organic meat! haha
        You still have much to learn young grasshopper 😉

      2. Well ironically, that’s one of the reasons I want to use bleach because of the superviruses! I don’t use antibacterial soap though. Germs and viruses can become resistant to anything, including natural alternatives.
        I don’t buy organic meat because it’s expensive! Typically 5-6 times more expensive, and I’m a meat eater! In time though I’ll transition.
        No harm to foul! I wanted a constructive dialogue so your position is very welcomed!

      3. Oy! That’s the same reasoning as why people think pesticides are needed. 😦
        And no, natural options don’t have the same effect. That’s why natural remedies still work nowadays, even if they’ve been used for centuries. It’s a natural eco-system, where everything has a place. Synthetic chemicals disturb this balance and that’s when things get out of whack. Just like we can digest the naturally-occurring e. coli from grass-fed cows, but we can no longer tolerate the super e. coli from corn-fed cows. Because it’s not normal. Herbivores don’t have the capacity to digest grains properly, so they get sick, and because they’re sick, the naturally mild germs get stronger because they are growing in a different environment (that is most likely very acidic).

        Anyway, with more research, personal experience, and time, you’ll learn more on these subjects, just like I did. Happy continuation!

      4. Well my rationale is antibiotics, aside from being synthetic, are overused en masse. On the contrary natural alternatives are not, and it takes a lot of time and use for bacteria to become resistant on a grand scale. I did a quick search and found a source that suggested E. coli can mutate and become resistant to white vinegar in a controlled lab experiment.
        I’d love to learn more about this subject so please feel free to share some resources whether here or via e-mail 🙂

  3. Sorry haven’t had a chance to reply! Most conventional white vinegar is made with GMO corn, same stuff they feed to the cows that react and produce stronger E. coli, maybe there’s a correlation?

Leave a Reply

